A very special evening with Lee Friedlander and the Preservation Hall Jazz Band

Karen Lee

Ben Jaffe and Lee Friedlander.

On October 27th, the Eakins Press Foundation hosted a book party for our newest publication - Prayer Pilgrimage for Freedom, photographs by Lee Friedlander. The intimate celebration took place at the Heath at the McKittrick Hotel with just over 130 guests. Among the evening's highlights, was a knockdown set by the Preservation Hall Jazz Band of New Orleans and insightful remarks by Peter Galassi about the book's historical context (more to come on that in another post). Lee's personal connection to Preservation Hall goes back to its beginnings.

The Eakins Press Foundation is so grateful to both the band and the McKittrick for making this dream a reality. We'd also like to acknowledge our friends and supporters, particularly those whose generosity made this special publication possible. Buy a copy of the book here.

All photos taken at the Heath at the McKittrick Hotel © Jack Llewellyn-Karski.

Ben Jaffe, Giancarlo Roma, Eakins Press Foundation Director Peter Kayafas, Peter Galassi, Lee Friedlander, Ava Friedlander, and Isabelle Michels.

Eakins Press Foundation Program Coordinator Karen Lee and Lee Friedlander.

Jay Maisel, Linda Maisel, and Columbia University Director of Photography Thomas Roma.

Book Designer Katy Homans, Nikki Sims, and Friedlander Archivist Stephanie Prussin.

Ben Jaffe, George Wein, and Glory Van Scott.

Yaddo Director of Development Steve Dennin, Eakins Press Board Member Heather Althoff, and Ballet Society's Astri Kingstone.

Emily Lessard, John Lehr, and Pratt Institute Photography Department Chair Stephen Hilger.

Sandra Jaffe and Jacques Nordeman.

Pace/MacGill's Mimi McLaughlin, Lauren Panzo, and Katherine Dever.

George Wein and Lee Friedlander.

Gallerist Sasha Wolf and Tom Osborne.

Preservation Hall Jazz Band Manager Greg Lucas, Peter Kayafas, Jennifer Pickering, and Leigh Maher.

Ben Jaffe, Metropolitan Museum of Art Photography Curator Jeff Rosenheim, and Kellye Rosenheim.

Eakins Press Foundation Event Sales Corina Kennedy.

Eakins Press Foundation Research Assistant Moira Sims, Hayden Hoyl, and Karen Lee.

R.O. and Moisha Blechman.

Sophie Lvoff and Elizabeth Bick.

Kai McBride and Eakins Press Foundation Event Sales Andrew Jarman.

Kai McBride, Thomas Roma, Jade Kedrick, and Giancarlo Roma.

School of Visual Arts MFA Chair Charles Traub and Photograph Magazine publisher Bill Mindlin.

Paula Trotto and Greg Kessler.

Maria Friedlander, Stephanie Prussin, and Peter Kayafas.

Preservation Hall Jazz Band

Preservation Hall Jazz Band

Preservation Hall Jazz Band

Prayer Pilgrimage for Freedom, Photographs by Lee Friedlander